Have you arrived?

 

Happiness is a state of mindOkay, so before getting started on this one, it is important for me to break it down for simpler understanding. So like most of you would be familiar with the hip phrases like “It’s not about the destination but about the journey” – through this blog post, I am trying to make better sense of it, for you and for myself.

More often than not, we make an effort to understand when it is that we can finally utter the golden words “I have arrived”. At least I did (for a long, long time). It was probably the idea of reaching the pinnacle of something-ness which would qualify me to declare myself “a master”.

But as we traverse and navigate through life, there is always a chance of treading upon newfound facts, figures and concepts which completely rinse out your previously held belief-system. I guess something of that sort happened to me as well. As I struggled with what’s in my head as opposed to what exists in reality, there were trigger points which washed away all the glory of ‘having arrived’, of having reached the destination.

Somehow without reaching the apex of it at all, I came to comprehend the magic of ‘not having arrived’. It was empowering/liberating to say the least. It was suddenly okay to not have arrived, to not have completed the journey, to not have become that inconspicuous self that I was waiting to be so proud of. What brought up this enlightenment, you ask? How about “I have no clue”? It was not necessarily a significant/outstanding moment of revelation but instead well-placed, scattered ‘aha’-moments which kept shifting that grain of thought into something quite the opposite.

The idea that we can be happy/satisfied only once a series of events have taken place, seemed so cruel and self-harming all of a sudden. It almost sounded like we were supposed to beat ourselves up throughout the journey, chanting in our heads the pathetic tune of “I’m not enough” till we win or we die. What a ridiculous way of living life or is it at all living?

Now of course I’m not saying do not push yourself to do better or do not bring out the best in you, all I’m saying is how about we do it all with a genuine smile on the face?

Leave a comment